The real MVP

Dearest Momma,

You are the most patient women I know.  You have taught me that life is one giant balancing act, with honoring God as the ultimate goal. You have loved, raised and are raising a quiver-full of kids that will all impact the world in their own God-given ways. Thank you for being a constant rock in our family. I know none of us shows you the amount of appreciation you deserve.

You’re the real MVP.

.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

Mother’s day is one of those holidays that you don’t fully appreciate until you bear the title. I’m no exception. I know so many wonderful mothers, and look forward to the day that I am privileged to be among them, but I know that I cannot fully appreciate what a mom sacrifices until I have the chance to take a walk in her shoes.

Today is supposed to be a happy day, and it is. Motherhood is often under appreciated. I think the fact that we have a whole calendar day dedicated to them speaks to that.  But, if I’m being honest, today is not the happiest of days for me.

Wifehood and Motherhood have been carved onto the tablet of my heart for as long as I can remember. It’s all I ever wanted to be; wife to a good man and mother to our children. Even now, nearing the quarter of a century mark, it’s still at the very core of who I am.

Watching not only my own amazing mother, but all of the other mothers I respect just keeps the embers burning deep inside me. When will my turn come, Lord? Sometimes the desire is so intense that it feels like this is what I was meant for. This is why I’m here.

I want everything that comes with being a wife and a mother. Will it be difficult sometimes? Yes. Will I want to pull my hair out somedays? I’m sure. But I’m game. Just waiting for the right man to take a chance on me, and praying in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

