What’s the Point?

My very first “real” job was working for my cousin at the daycare she owned. I worked with a range of ages, but was originally hired on as the baby teacher, which simply meant I sat in a room with no more then 5 littles all under the age of 1, surrounded by diaper bags, bottles, baby beds, and all sorts of colorful noisemakers. Point being, I’m no stranger to working with children. But after almost 2 years of not a week going by that I didn’t come home crying at least 1 out of 5 days, I called in one Monday morning, stressed out and teary eyed, my parents and boyfriend behind me, and quit. I probably told myself in that moment that I would never work with kids again.

Yet here I am, 5 years later, working with kids again. Sometimes it feels like I’m back at the daycare, just with school aged kids instead of toddlers. I’ve yet to decide which is worst, the toddlers who only seem to communicate through raised voices, or the immature middle schoolers having inappropriate conversation and claiming they’re boyfriend and girlfriend.

Even though I don’t really believe in the government school system, I can understand how teaching can be a very rewarding profession. It’s reaching kids, pouring into them and watching them learn and grow. All any teacher ever wants is to see her students blossom into all he or she believes they can be. Many times teachers have an impact on students that reach beyond the classroom walls, influencing decisions they make in their later lives. Next to parents, I would venture to say that teachers probably have the biggest impact in a persons life. That’s some steep responsibility!

As Sylvan’s classroom manager, I have an opportunity to be a positive influence in several young peoples lives, and hopefully, by the grace of God, point them to Christ. Sow a few seeds, maybe water some others. I don’t know the Lord’s plans. The last several months, and even the last few years, have really shown me that. I must confess that I am not always the picture of grace under fire. Sometimes, very much the opposite, but over and over again God reminds me that He is the only real stable constant I have in life (even though I get upset and try to push against His reminders, He will just simply, graciously, remind me again).

Jobs, money, even close friends, all the things we hold onto, the things that make us feel safe, they’re all unstable and changeable. All it takes is a moment.  So while you still have it, take care of it. Use is wisely, to the glory of God. Share it with others.

One of the wisest men that ever lived said this about life:

“What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.”   Solomon, Ecclesiastes 3:9-14 NIV

Leave a Reply

