Volcano

Sometimes I’ll get a song stuck in my head, and then that song is about all I can think about for the rest of the day. It’s the only song I remember how to sing; the only song I can hear because it plays over and over and over in my head. Next follows the want, no.. need to dance. To move through space and tell the story my ears are hearing. Partnered or solo, it doesn’t matter. I just want to move.

It doesn’t happen super often, but it happened today. The song is Volcano by Damian Rice, as performed by Philip Phillips. I prefer Philips version of it. It’s really not that much different, musically, but I like the way it sounds better. And Philips gruff vocal is really easy on the ears.. Hehe.

It’s just a guitar and a cello, but it’s oh so good. The simplicity of the music is what is inspiring to me. When I dance, I rarely ever dance to lyrics. I dance to music. I want to someday be able to hear all the little intricacies of a piece of music, and then show them to you through my movement. I want anyone watching to be able to see what I hear.

Something else that happens when I get stuck on a song is i’ll typically then listen to it over and over again, trying to hear every little thing happening within the song. While listening I may even choreograph short segments in my head to certain parts of the song, trying to figure out what I could\would do if I were dancing to it.

Modern west coast swing combines partner dancing with opportunities for solo interpretation, depending on the song. A simple guitar and cello piece is perfect, with enough structure to keep you on time, musically, but also enough room for some lyrical elements without having a negative affect on the partnership. It’s wonderful really. It’s why I love this dance so much.

img_4209
Dancin’ with Coach
Leave a Reply

